Changing Inside Out

Posted on: 12/27/2010

My  Christmas tree stood silently in the corner of my living room.  The star atop the light filled branches blinked its green and blue casting its colored shadows on the wall.

I could not help but think of mom and dad every time I looked at the ornaments as they sparkled with the reflection of the lights.  I was swept back to my childhood, laying beneath our tree and gazing with wonder up through its branches.  How beautiful  it looked sitting in the picture window, welcoming us home during the holidays.

I thought about dad and how careful he was with decorating, how he instructed me in placing the ornaments and the tinsel with care.

This was my first Christmas without them and I miss them so very much.  However, I smile at the memories mom and dad created, the love that they surrounded me with, the love that lives on.

Happy Holidays Mom and Dad

Leave a comment