Changing Inside Out

My Green Mile

Posted on: 12/02/2010

I  have felt very frustrated today about many things.  I  have questioned my decision to enter school at my age, and try to leave this life having accomplished a long desired goal.

I have been told many times to keep my eyes on the prize, never look back. However, if we never look back, how do we know how far we have actually traveled?  If we look back do we feel encouraged about the trials we have survived, or do we become fearful of all the mistakes we have made?

God says his mercy is  new every morning, that is because yesterday is gone.  He also says he tosses our sins into the sea of forgetfulness, as far as the east is from the west.  If this is true, and I believe it is, then our failures and mistakes are long forgotten by God.  Why then do we allow the past to be like a ball and chain behind us?

The road we travel from birth until we lay down in our final sleep can seem very long.  Our goals, desires and dreams can seem unattainable so often in our lives.  I am reminded of a song that best describes my journey, “to dream the impossible dream, to reach the unreachable star, to go where the brave dare not follow”  lyrics from “The Impossible Dream”

This is my green mile;  To go where I have only dreamed  of going, to do what others said was impossible, to be all that God has given me the ability to be.

If we but persist in our efforts, if we take a deep breath and forge up that hill one more time, if we but grasp the hand of God and allow him to lead us, we will see the summit.  How glorious the view will be, when we at last stand and look out over the valleys we have defeated.

In my weakness HE is made strong.

1 Response to "My Green Mile"

You’re doing a great job mom. Just keep going!

Leave a Reply

